Bon Iver – Bon Iver / 2011

Justin Vernon, better known these days as Bon Iver, has just managed to release (via Jagjaguwar) an album that will compete for best of the year on Sunset in the Rearview. After a breakthrough debut album (For Emma, Forever Ago), Bon Iver had all the pressure in the world to outperform his previous release. It comes as no surprise to me that Justin Vernon knocked this challenge out of the park. Justin has shown a mastery of musical theory that is sprinkled throughout the album in the form of perfectly married vocals and instrumentals, a pitch range few other artists have proven themselves capable of (listen for the highs in “Perth” and for the lows in “Hinnom, TX”), and lyrics that remind listeners that poetry is the foundation of genius in songwriting. Bon Iver has taken the skin and bones of making music and dressed it up into sonic perfection.

‘Bon Iver’ Tracklisting:
1. Perth
2. Minnesota, WI
3. Holocene
4. Towers
5. Michicant
6. Hinnom, TX
7. Wash.
8. Calgary
9. Lisbon, OH
10. Beth/Rest


After repeated listens to “Calgary,” the album’s eighth track, we can begin to answer some of the things we’ve been wondering about Bon Iver.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: