Tim Buckley – Live At The Folklore Center, NYC – March 6, 1967

Occasionally a recording surfaces that represents not only a holy grail for fans of the artist in question, but stands as an important historical document of an era. For those listeners fascinated with the strange and wonderful career of Tim Buckley or those with an interest in the `60s Greenwich Village folk scene, LIVE AT THE FOLKLORE CENTER NYC: MARCH 6, 1967 is such an item. Recorded at one of urban folk music’s most important breeding grounds on a 2-track tape machine with no amplification, in front of a casual audience of a few dozen people in a living room-like setting, the disc captures Tim Buckley in between the release of his first and second albums, a watershed moment in his unusual development as an artist. Here, the listener can hear the first inklings of Buckley’s later blossoming as an uncompromising, highly influential, and totally enigmatic singer. Though still firmly in the singer-songwriter mold of his debut self-titled Elektra LP, the late Orange County, California native is starting to explore the concept of his incredible voice as an instrument, letting his vocals fly freely above his energetic guitar strumming with a bristling energy and powerful enthusiasm that must have been electrifying to behold.

In addition to wide-eyed, still innocent-sounding renditions of compositions from TIM BUCKLEY and the follow-up/psychedelic masterpiece GOODBYE AND HELLO, Buckley performs six songs never previously released either on studio or live albums, including the driving, catchy, shoulda-been-a-hit “I Can’t Leave You Loving Me” and the gentle, yearning, “Norwegian Wood”-like “Cripples Cry,” both of which capture his voice at its most crystalline and heart-piercing. Perhaps the show’s most poignant moment, however, is Buckley’s version of Fred Neil’s song “Dolphins.” The difference between the performance captured here and the studio version from 1973’s SEFRONIA is striking; in 1967 the singer seemed to be searching for meaning in the song, still hopeful, but just beginning to intuit the vast challenges and heartache that the world had in store for him. By 1973 however, less than two years away from his tragic death, Buckley sang the song with the voice of a man tortured by demons and wizened by years of trying to make his way in an ever-critical, unforgiving commerical environment. Recorded in the year of SGT. PEPPER’S and ARE YOU EXPERIENCED, the album is a snapshot not only of one man in creative transition, but of a shining moment when a few brave popular musicians were fully putting aside financial considerations in the pursuit of great art.

Live at the Folklore Center, NYC – March 6, 1967 Tracklist:
01. Song for Jainie
02. I Never Asked To Be Your Mountain
03. Wing
04. Phantasmagoria In Two
05. Just Please Leave Me (Previously Unreleased)
06. Dolphins
07. I Can’t See You
08. Troubadour
09. Aren’t You The Girl
10. What Do You Do (He Never Saw You) (Previously Unreleased)
11. No Man Can Find The War
12. Carnival Song
13. Cripples Cry (Previously Unreleased)
14. If The Rain Comes (Previously Unreleased)
15. Country Boy (Previously Unreleased)
16. I Can’t Leave You Loving Me (Previously Unreleased)

What Do You Do ( Have You Ever Saw) (Previously Unreleased)

I Can’t Leave You Loving Me (Previously Unreleased)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: