The Mothers Of invention / I Ain’t Got No Heart (1966)

Players On This Song

FREAK OUT! version

  • Frank Zappa – guitar & vocals
  • Ray Collins – lead vocalist, harmonica, tambourine, finger cymbals, bobby pin & tweezers
  • Jimmy Carl Black – drums (also sings in some foreign language)
  • Roy Estrada – bass & guitarron; boy soprano
  • Elliot Ingber – alternate lead & rhythm guitar with clear white light
  • FZ liner notes on “Freak Out!” (1966): “‘I Ain’t Got No Heart‘ is a summary of my feelings in social-sexual relationships.”
  • “One of the most ambitious debuts in rock history, Freak Out! was a seminal concept album that somehow foreshadowed both art rock and punk at the same time. Its four LP sides deconstruct rock conventions right and left, eventually pushing into territory inspired by avant-garde classical composers. Yet the album is sequenced in an accessibly logical progression; the first half is dedicated to catchy, satirical pop/rock songs that question assumptions about pop music, setting the tone for the radical new directions of the second half.  “I Ain’t Got No Heart” mp3



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: