Great Big Sea – Safe Upon The Shore / 2010


Track List:

1. Long Life (Where Did You Go)
2. Nothing but a Song
3. Yankee Sailor
4. Good People
5. Dear Home Town
6. Over the Hills
7. Hit the Ground and Run
8. Safe Upon the Shore
9. Have a Cuppa Tea
10. Wandering Ways
11. Follow Me Back
12. Road to Ruin
13. Gallows Pole
14. Don’t Wanna Go Home


For the most part, there’s a different sound than what we usually associate with GBS throughout this collection; some of the songs were recorded straight into a laptop computer, and others in an actual studio in New Orleans. The resulting album is definitely a step forward for GBS. “Dear Home Town” is a mid-tempo song about what gets left behind along life’s journey, and “Long Life” also touches on the journey to and from, and back again. As mentioned above, both songs have a decidedly different sound than what we’re used to from the boys. Don’t fret though, the band’s history of reeling and rocking hasn’t been abandoned; “Road To Ruin”, “Hit The Ground And Run” and “Wandering Ways” are all about shotgun weddings, pubs, ladies and the old black rum!


Long Life (Where Did You Go) mp3



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: